top of page

It's actually worse than sad that it still exists.


Actor, Graham Eaglesham, talks about his experiences of performing in Pagelight's 'A Very Victorian Scandal':

Since this was my first LGBT History project, it really was an eye-opener, both to learn about and to add to in a creative way.

Developing a little known but very interesting chapter in Manchester’s history was fantastic.

AVVS is perhaps the most varied, layered weekend event I've ever been apart of.

I'd say that working on LGBT history in this way has given me an insight to what the LGBT community is still up against; in terms of political inequality and homophobia, which sadly still exists - even if the Victorian morality absolutism has become reduced somewhat.

It's actually worse than sad that it still exists.

Rage is perhaps the right emotion when you hear about what Russia is currently doing to the LGBT community there. But then, you don't need to go to Russia to find homophobia.

As a straight actor, I never really thought about it much before I worked on AVVS. I'd like to think I'm a better person for it, and if I can add to a message in any kind of way, I'm happy to do so!

AVVS had the opportunity to shed a light into a dark part of Mancunian history and all three productions delivered that education and entertainment (I think, but I'm biased) in equal measure.

I loved working on every part of it. Wood was a pleasure to play, and discovering new ways to deliver his anxieties and politics, with Mark (Caminada) in rehearsals and Helen directing us, was my favourite memory.

I also enjoyed working with Ceris, who really helped me understand movement in that not-so-easy performance space.

Playing Mr Nash, the prosecution solicitor, in the Trial also allowed me to bring a physical and theatrical energy to the piece and to use the space widely.

Since I am a massive show-off (!), I'm so pleased to have been given the opportunity to play two very different characters.

I'm pleased to have worked on AVVS and I'm very, very grateful for the laughs and the talks we made as a collective.

We were told it should be on the West End, and I do rather hope that comes to fruition!


Recent Posts
bottom of page